The monotonous killer

fish-818201_1920

People sounds monotone when they concern about how they will sound, they don’t know the material they want to present.  Or something else is bothering them at that moment. The best way to break this monotone drill is to get rid of a problem.  Make yourself feel comfortable. Focus on the meaning of your words and get rid of other thoughts. Live in this moment.  Practice a lot on your speech and know exactly what you want to say.

To make your speech interesting and “alive” practice the following exercise.

Exercise:  Pick any line you want. And reread it with different emotions: happiness, sadness, surprise, fear, anger and disgust. Give it few minutes every day till you happy with results. Make it absurd, have fun with it! Your goal is to break monotone drill and sound organic afterward.

Examples of the lines:

  • The less you give a damn the happier you will be.
  • Of course, I talk to myself because sometimes I need expert advice.
  • I never make the same mistake twice. I make it five or six times, just to be sure.
  • Apparently, people get upset when you treat them the way you treat you. Seriously? Who knew?
  • I wonder how police on bikes arrest people. “Alright, get in the basket”
  • I stress about stress before there’s even stress to stress about!
  • I am going to stand outside. So if anyone asks, I AM OUTSTANDING!
  • Some people have ah ha! Moments. Not me, I have… Ah, shit! Moments.
  • My bad is a magical place where I suddenly remember everything I was supposed to do.
  • If you like somebody set them free. If they come back, it means nobody likes them. Set them free again.
  • After Tuesday , even the calender goes W T F
  • There is no angry way to say bubbles.
  • Courage is when you do one brave thing today… then run like hell!
  • Never give up!

 The material has been written for this course.

Leave a Reply

